SUD Board of Directors Membership


As a designated community mental health entity pursuant to Section 287(5) of Public Act 500 of 2012), the Northern Michigan Regional Entity is required to establish a Substance Use Disorder Oversight Policy Board though a written contractual agreement with each of the twenty-one counties within its service region.  The purpose of the SUD Oversight Board is to: 1)  approve any portion of NMRE’s budget that contains 1986 PA 2 (MCL 211.24e(11)) funds for the treatment or prevention of substance use disorders to be used only for substance use disorder treatment and prevention in the Counties from which the PA 2 Funds originated; 2) advise and make recommendations regarding NMRE’s budgets for substance use disorder treatment or prevention using non PA 2 Funds; and 3) advise and make recommendations regarding contracts with substance use disorder treatment or prevention providers.

The SUD Oversight Board shall consist of between twenty-one (21) and twenty-five (25) members. The Board of Commissioners of each County shall appoint one (1) individual to serve as a member of the Board.  Each County Board of Commissioners may appoint a County commissioner or other resident of the County, as allowed by Michigan law, that it deems best represents the interests of the County.  A Board member shall serve a three-year term unless the member resigns or is removed by the Country Board of Commissioners.

The Northern Michigan Regional Entity SUD Oversight Board meets the first Monday of odd number months at 10:00AM in the conference room located at 1068 Cross Street in Gaylord, unless otherwise posted.  The meetings are Open to the Public in compliance of 1976 P.A. 267 (the “Open Meetings Act”).

Carolyn Brummund Alcona County
Brenda Fournier Alpena County
Melissa Zelenak Antrim County
Coury Carland Benzie County
Joel Evans Charlevoix County
John Wallace Cheboygan County
Rick Anderson Crawford County
Terry Newton Emmet County
Chuck Welch Grand Traverse County
Jay O’Farrell Iosco County
David Comai Kalkaska County
Gwenne Allgaier Leelanau County
Richard Schmidt Manistee County
Dean Vivian Missaukee County
Roger Frye Montmorency County
Ron Quackenbush Ogemaw County
Larry Wilson Oscoda County
Duane Switalski Otsego County
Terry Larson Presque Isle County
Gary Stefanko Roscommon County
Gary Taylor Wexford County