NMRE Governing Board

The business, property, and affairs of the Northern Michigan Regional Entity are managed by its Governing Board.  The Governing Board of the Northern Michigan Regional Entity is a policy Board.  It does not directly operate the Northern Michigan Regional Entity; it determines policy which the CEO executes.

Each of the five participating Member Community Mental Health Services Programs has appointed three individuals from its current Board roster to serve on the Northern Michigan Regional Entity Governing Board.  At least one individual must have received mental health or substance use disorder services, as defined in the Mental Health Code and the Public Health Code, 1978 PA 368, and 2012 PA 500.

The Northern Michigan Regional Entity Governing Board meets the fourth Wednesday of every month at 10:00AM in the conference room located at 1999 Walden Drive in Gaylord, unless otherwise posted.  The meetings are Open to the Public in compliance of 1976 PA 267 (the “Open Meetings Act”).

Governing Board Members

Gary Klacking, Chair
Don Tanner, Vice Chair
Karla Sherman, Secretary
Robert Adrian
Tom Bratton
Ed Ginop
Eric Lawson
Greg McMorrow
Michael Newman
Gary Nowak
Jay O'Farrell
Ruth Pilon
Richard Schmidt
Don Smeltzer
Chuck Varner

Governing Board FY24 Meeting Schedule

The NMRE Governing Board meets on the 4th Wednesday of every month at 10:00AM at the NMRE office located at 1999 Walden Drive, Gaylord, unless otherwise noted:
  • October 25, 2023
  • December 13, 2023
  • January 24, 2024
  • February 28, 2024
  • March 27, 2024
  • April 24, 2024
  • May 22, 2024
  • June 26, 2024
  • July 24, 2024
  • August 28, 2024
  • September 25, 2024
*The November and December meetings will be combined and occur on December 13, 2023