SUD Oversight Committee

As a designated community mental health entity pursuant to Section 287(5) of Public Act 500 of 2012), the Northern Michigan Regional Entity is required to establish a Substance Use Disorder Oversight Committee though a written contractual agreement with each of the twenty-one counties within its service region. The purpose of the SUD Oversight Committee rd is to: 1) approve any portion of NMRE’s budget that contains 1986 PA 2 [MCL 211.24e(11)] funds for the treatment or prevention of substance use disorders to be used only for substance use disorder treatment and prevention in the Counties from which the PA 2 Funds originated; 2) advise and make recommendations regarding the NMRE’s budgets for substance use disorder treatment or prevention using non PA 2 Funds; and 3) advise and make recommendations regarding contracts with substance use disorder treatment or prevention providers.

The SUD Oversight Committee consists of one member from each of the NMRE’s 21 counties. The Board of Commissioners of each County has appointed one (1) individual to serve as a member; the individual may be a County Commissioner or other resident of the County, as allowed by Michigan law, that it deems best represents the interests of the County. A committee member shall serve a three-year term unless the member resigns or is removed by the Country Board of Commissioners.

The Northern Michigan Regional Entity SUD Oversight Committee meets the first Monday of odd number months (November, January, March, May, July, and September) at 10:00AM in the Northern Michigan Regional Entity conference room at 1999 Walden Drive, Gaylord, unless otherwise posted. The meetings are Open to the Public in compliance with 1976 PA 267 (the “Open Meetings Act”).

NMRE SUD Oversight Committee Members

Richard Schmidt (Manistee County) – Chair
Jay O’Farrell (Iosco County) – Vice-Chair
Carolyn Brummund (Alcona County)
Burt Francisco (Alpena County)
Pam Singer (Antrim County)
Tim Markey (Benzie County)
Anne Marie Conway (Charlevoix County)
John Wallace (Cheboygan County)
Sherry Powers (Crawford County)
Terry Newton (Emmet County)
Dave Freedman (Grand Traverse County)
David Comai (Kalkaska County)
Vacant (Leelanau County)
Dean Smallegan (Missaukee County)
Don Edwards (Montmorency County)
Ron Quackenbush (Ogemaw County)
Chuck Varner (Oscoda County)
Doug Johnson (Otsego County)
Dana Labar (Presque Isle County)
Darlene Sensor (Roscommon County)
Gary Taylor (Wexford County)