The counties of Alcona,  Alpena,  Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Iosco, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, and Wexford, through their designated Community Mental Health Service Program (CMHSP) Authorities or Organizations, created a Regional Entity known as the Northern Michigan Regional Entity (NMRE) pursuant to the authority granted under the Michigan Mental Health Code.

What Does the NMRE Do?

  • Serves as the Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan (PIHP) to directly contract with the State as a managed care entity for our 21-county region. 
  • Receives State funding and contracts for behavioral health services.
  • Ensures compliance with the state partial risk contract.
  • Ensures adequacy of provider network and available services. 
  • Manages Substance Use Disorder (SUD) funding for Medicaid, block grant, and liquor tax.

Funding Sources:

  • Medicaid for persons with severe mental illness, children with serious emotional disturbances, all individuals with substance use disorders and individuals with intellectual/developmental disabilities.
  • Medicaid specifically for persons with SUD.
  • Block Grant for persons with SUD.
  • Liquor Tax (must be used for SUD prevention or treatment).